Furry Writers' Guild Forum

The Daily Grind: A Coffee Anthology

Hey, folks! I’m an assistant editor for Goal now, and we’re going to be taking submissions for a coffee-themed furry anthology starting in July!

Title: The Daily Grind
Imprint: Goal Publications (The Goal Publications imprint is only accepting work applicable for a general audience. Any work that would be marked 18+ will not be accepted by this imprint.)
Timeline for Receiving Submissions: July 1st, 2018 – November 14th, 2018
Release: The plan is to release at Pine Fur Con on April 5th, 2019
Lead Editor: Amy Clare Fontaine
Co-Editor: Madison Keller
Payment Rate: $0.0075/word + one copy of the anthology. Contributors/editors may buy additional copies at a 40% discount
Rights: We are asking for first rights on all stories for six months following the publication date. Reprints will be considered, but priority will be given to original works.

Introduction:
Coffee is synonymous with writers and readers, and is a staple for households all over the world. While your story may have a central theme that does not directly involve coffee, coffee must share the spotlight. Some ideas for stories:

• A romance featuring a coffee shop employee and a patron
  • An action story about a war between coffee-lovers and tea-lovers
  • A slice-of-life about someone who truly can’t begin their day without a cup or seven of coffee
  • A comedy in space where someone in a shuttle only dreams of returning home to their one true love: coffee (because they only have crap coffee on board the ship and that just feels like cheating)
  • A fantasy where you’re transported away to a far-away land, and the only common ground you can find are…grounds. You know, coffee? Get the joke?