Furry Writers' Guild Forum

Furlandia 2016 - Writer's Track

Folks,

My name is Thomas Gondolfi, author of Toy Wars and the CorpGov Chronicles (see www.tanstaaflpress.com). I’ve been asked by one of the directors of Furlandia to coordinate with the Furry Writer’s Guild to come up with a writer’s track for Furlandia (Portland, OR) in 2016. Poetigress mentioned that this would be the right place to bring it up.

As a veteran of thirty years of conventions and two years as a professional author, I have a something of a clue as to what we should share. I have a list of general areas we should try to fill as either seminars, demonstrations or panels. I’m willing to coordinate the writer’s track (unless someone wants to volunteer).

What I need from you is two fold… 1) Suggestions for specific panels, seminars and/or demonstrations, 2) commitment to being a part of one or more of them at Furlandia!

Here is the generic writing list (that we can make furry specific by our choices within them). The more of these we fill, the better Furlandia will be for you, me and everyone else.

•    Plot / Story

•    Editing / Critiquing

•    Character

•    Setting / World

•    Business of writing
                 - Risks / Profit-Loss / Business plan / Contracts / Lawyers / Licensing / Interstate vs International business / Sole proprietor vs LLC / Insurance / Costs / Alternative funding / Alternative cash flows

•    Copyright 

•    Self Publishing
                  - Sales channels / distribution

•    Traditional Publishing

•    Marketing

•    Ebooks

•    Building Author platform

•    Professional Organizations

Tom Gondolfi (aka TeddyBearMan)
tgondolfi@tanstaaflpress.com

My first suggestion:

“Atavism in Anthropomorphic Literature”: Why species matters, what’s idiosyncratic to a species, and how can we convey it to readers in a way that is engaging instead of alienating?

Second suggestion: